Skip to content

Rejected plans

June 22, 2011
tags:

Now that I’ve started spreading the word about this plan, a few people have asked me, “What made you think of auctioning off your first kiss?” Ah, but little do they know, this was not my first plan.

I had heard there was very good kissing to be had in Vancouver, so I thought I’d plan a trip. Then I discovered that the best kissing there requires a riot, and I decided against that plan. That Vancouver kiss looks like a nice one, doesn’t it? I understand that, in context, it was much scarier and less romantic, but out of context, it looks like everything a kiss should be, only with a few extra police officers around. (Best wishes to Jones and Thomas, featured in the photograph.)

After rejecting that plan, I thought about other, more classic kisses. I came up with a plan to build a time machine and go back to Times Square in August, 1945. . . .check out the classic picture here: the famous picture taken by Alfred Eisenstaedt.

Then I looked at the nurse and thought to myself, “That looks uncomfortable.” I don’t want to have to bend over backward, literally, for my first kiss. I’ll bend over backward figuratively, but not literally.

There you have it. Those plans didn’t work out, so auction it is.

Next on the Kiss Chronicles To-Do list:
1. Tell Mom about Kiss Chronicles. (I haven’t told her yet. Woops. I’d probably better tell her before somebody else does.)
2. Get in touch with the charity I’ve chosen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Phillips permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:03 am

    Yah…telling Mom would be a good thing 🙂

    • June 22, 2011 11:27 am

      She thought it was a really fun idea. We laughed the whole time we talked about it. 🙂

  2. June 22, 2011 9:01 am

    Have you thought ahead to when the auction concludes? I mean, have you considered a kiss delivery system? What if the winning bid is from China or Indonesia?

    • June 22, 2011 11:31 am

      Yes: It’s going to have to be a local pickup item. (There’s a joke in there somewhere!) I looked around a bit on eBay, and others have set up auctions that require local pickup.

      If the winning bid DOES some from China or Indonesia, I’m going to have to default to the second-highest bid, which would hopefully be local.

Trackbacks

  1. Just Be Enough: I know I have to « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

