Skip to content

The entire, brief boyfriend history

June 25, 2011

I realize I need to share a bit more about myself and what lead up to this auction plan, but I’m not going to throw my personal history book at you. There’s no call for that. I like you, and I like it when you read this blog. So I’ll just throw a page of the book at you every now and then.

Here’s the page (which is the entire chapter) on my boyfriend history:

I’ve had a boyfriend before, though it wasn’t serious. It was around freshman/sophomore year of high school. I met him at my high school, we traded numbers, and he transferred to another school. We started calling back and forth irregularly and declared ourselves girlfriend and boyfriend. It was sweet and very lighthearted. We never went out on a date. When he transferred back to my high school (I’m sure there’s an explanation for the transferring, but I can’t remember that I ever asked him about it), we barely talked, and the relationship ended as quietly as it had begun, without any drama. I’m the bad guy: I ended it. I chose to do that because we weren’t serious, and he didn’t make a peep of protest, so I think he agreed.

While we were still a couple, his birthday came around. I bought him something small and silly* that I could afford and gave it to him at school. I thought he would try to kiss me then — it was his birthday, after all, and a good opportunity. I was very nervous about it, wondering whether he would or wouldn’t try. But he didn’t, and we parted ways like usual.

I remember distinctly what he told me at some point after that: “You looked like you would smack me if I tried to kiss you.”

Oops? O.O

As it turned out, I must have been giving off the wrong vibes. Apparently I’m scary when I’m nervous. I’m also nervous on a fairly regular basis. No wonder I’ve never been kissed! It all makes sense now!

If you want to be technical about it, I had a second (and final) boyfriend after that one, also during high school, but we met over the Internet and never in person. That was a case of my younger self wanting to play at being in love. I thought it was serious and real at the time, but my older self now looks back and laughs at the younger because I was actually trying to be in love.

That’s the story of my puppyhood. Would you be willing to tell me a story of puppy love? Take it to the comments or email! I’d love to hear.

* I admit it was a fox beanie baby toy, as well as another minor item that I can’t remember. Please just pretend you didn’t read that, though.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 9:04 pm

    “Serious” relationships are not always what they’re cracked up to be. My first girlfriend was a cheerleader (this was high school). I was devoted to her and she was possessive of me (notice the lack of parallelism?) Three proms (she was a year ahead of me), three years, and I gave her an engagement ring. Then I went to IU and she went berserk. She was convinced I was cheating on her with every girl on campus. She sent spies. When they reported I was celibate, she accused them of cheating on her with me. This was a problem; we broke up by Thanksgiving of that school year.
    Another girlfriend: she was gorgeous, charming, and very traditional Puerto Rican. We stayed up all night talking. We were a locally famous couple. She decided I should eat fried Plantains and because she was her, I did. I asked her to marry me and she was thinking about it. Then she got off a bus in front of her dorm and got drop-kicked by a big Bloomington taxi. ICU, and I couldn’t get in (not a relative). Her parents showed up from Gary, found out their little girl was serious with a not-so-Puerto Rican guy, and disappeared her. I was not allowed to see her. After some weeks, she broke it off because Mom insisted, and a good Puerto Rican girl does what her mother says.
    It was then that I became a career bachelor.
    When I fell for Amy, I warned her that it doesn’t work out too good for the girl when I ask them to marry me. We’ve been married almost thirty years. I imagine it’s daily torture for her.

    • June 26, 2011 11:42 pm

      I cracked up hard at that last line, Steve. Oh wow, now I’m desperate to hear Amy’s side of the story. If that’s what you’re imagining, I can’t help but wonder what she’s imagining.

      • June 27, 2011 1:13 am

        That last was just a joke. Life with Amy has been … magical. I sometimes consider that those other relationships were redirected, that they were not the true road and somebody was traffic cop. It would be nice to discover that experience is for a reason.

  2. Jordan permalink
    June 27, 2011 4:26 pm

    Histories are nice to share, right? And, I have to agree with Stephan’s first line, though my experiences are far more young spirited and much more brief.

    I’ve had more than a few girlfriends in the past, I will admit, and while I always said it would be good to be ‘serious’ with them, I never quite gripped that mindset. Well, not until I got myself an internet crush too. It was something that changed my life and without any physical contact whatsoever, much unlike the relationships of my past. Through countless hours of talking via chat programs or the phone, my view on life was changed to what I see now, and I was the happiest just to share my own insanity with someone, rather than have a girl at my arm.

    Now, of course I was a bit younger (and I still am) so like all things in one’s young life, those errant thoughts of immaturity that were fading with my high school days got the best of that relationship, told me I needed something physical, instantly. Worst mistake of my life. But, I am happy for every minute I had, looking back.

    There’s much more to life and learning about its joys than kissing will ever show you, and I am happy to have learned that even if it cost me my best friend to come to grips with it.

    • June 27, 2011 8:30 pm

      Hi again, Jordan. That sounds like a memory you hold very close and value highly. Even though it makes me a bit sad, I’m glad I read it.

      “There’s much more to life and learning about its joys than kissing will ever show you,”

      I agree with you 100%. Absolutely there is more to life. But kissing is one of the simple joys of life, so it does offer a small, intrinsic value that I’d like to experience.

      However, I can tell you for certain that by the end of this project, the most valuable thing I’ll have gained won’t be that kiss. I’m learning a great deal just from interacting with people I otherwise would never have gotten to talk to. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Graduating into the dating world « kisschronicles
  2. Just Be Enough: I know I have to « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

