Skip to content

International Kissing Day and a sweet first smooch

July 6, 2011

I was supposed to post last night, but I decided to hold off. I had a good feeling that I should post today rather than yesterday. I’ve been rewarded for my procrastination with a very fun topic. Some will call this dumb luck. I prefer to call it keen blogging instinct…okay, fine, it was dumb luck.

Today is International Kissing Day! (See also National Kissing Day and World Kiss Day.) I confess, I didn’t know about the event until today, but one of the mottos for the Kiss Chronicles project is “better late than never,” and hey, I’m not even too late to help promote the worldwide event. The only bad news is that I don’t get to participate.

If you click the word Day in the above paragraph, the link takes you to an article that starts with this bit of trivia: “A person who lives 70 years, spends 110,000 minutes of his life kissing.” That’s 1,833.33 hours, or 76.38 days, or about 2 and a half months. I’m going to make a rough guess that the people in the study (was there a study? no reference in the article) began their active kissing lives at age 15, and in order to make the following math fairly simple, I’m going to erroneously assume a steady rate of kissing from age 15 to 70. That’s 110,000 minutes of kissing in 55 years, or 2,000 minutes per year.

Currently, I’m missing out on at least 30,000 minutes (500 hours/20.83 days) of kissing and climbing. When you look at it that way, can you really blame me for coming up with the Kiss Chronicles project?

Here’s a factoid from the Wired news article that I sneakily linked to near the beginning of this post: “In studies, people remember more of the details about a first kiss than first sexual experience.”

Good! Because I want those first kiss stories. Speaking of which, here’s a charming story:

My first kiss was Jeremy, whom I went all through Queen of Angels grade school with. Julia, whom I also went all through Q of A with, lived next door to Jeremy. Jeremy and I had been “going out” for a couple of months. I was in the 6th grade, and he in the 5th. He would record love songs on cassette tapes for me and bought me a rose; quite a romantic for such a young fella! I was over at Julia’s and met him in her driveway β€” the kiss being planned. πŸ™‚ It was just a peck but the sweetest, most innocent kiss in the world! It was just perfect! No regrets, only a fond, fond memory!

~Molly

It’s so sweet that I don’t have any room to offer a followup punchline. Quick, somebody send me a sour first kiss story! I can post it anonymously. C’mon, kiss and tell. kisschronicles @ gmail.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 9:13 am

    Interntional Kissing Day? I’ll have to tell Amy about this. Where’s my Chapstick?

    • July 8, 2011 12:57 pm

      I hope you found your Chapstick and celebrated International Kissing Day in style! πŸ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. A Valentine’s Day first kiss « kisschronicles

Leave a Reply

