Skip to content

Graduating into the dating world

July 9, 2011

I warned you that I’d tell you more about my personal history over time. Last time, I shared my boyfriend history. Now I’m going to subject you to a piece of dating history. Feel free to run away and find a more interesting blog or webcomic; I won’t be offended.

I’ve had, well, quick tally, five official dates, plus two instances of meet-for-coffee-because-we’re-not-sure-we-want-to-go-on-a-real-date.

Here’s the story of the first date:

I went through four years of college dateless. I attended my college graduation ceremony, sat next to a friendly and flirtatious guy, and he asked for my number. Yes, I got picked up at my graduation by somebody I’d never met. Woot!

I didn’t hear from him right away — he didn’t call until at least a month later. During that month, I was wrapped up in starting my internship for the summer and moving to a new residence. When I finally got a call from him, I’d almost forgotten about the flirty guy at the graduation ceremony. We talked for a while. Then he asked me whether I’d like to go out to a movie and hang out, and I happily accepted.

He came to pick me up. I was underwhelmed by his car. Oh, I’m not talking about the outside. Makes and models are lost on me. I’m referring to the fact that the inside was a junkyard. It was full of various items, some of it trash. I hope I’m not being too picky when I say that if I’m being picked up for a date, I would prefer that the passenger seat doesn’t have to be urgently cleared of refuse as I try to sit down. (I’m writing about this eight years later, so yes, that left an impression.)

We went to the movie. It was something innocuous and inconsequential — I can’t remember what. I do, however, remember that at some point during the movie he put his hand on my knee. I looked at it and thought, “Okay, there’s a hand there. What do I do with it?” This was my first time going out on a date, so I was uncertain about hand-to-knee etiquette and appropriate responses. I opted to ignore it and watch the movie. After the movie, we went and got ice cream and then somehow ended up back at his apartment. We talked, and I’m pretty sure I must have been giving off obvious awkwardness/discomfort vibes because we migrated from indoors to the porch. The date ended, and he took me home in his garbage truck car.

I heard from him again maybe a week later. He invited me out boating, or to a boat party, or something along those lines. I declined. Although I didn’t say so to him, I felt iffy about going out boating with someone I hardly knew. He said I should be more adventurous.

I probably deserved that at the time, but still…ouchie. Despite that little sting, I don’t have any regrets (or even any recollection of his name).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 7:13 pm

    Okay, so the guy picks you up in a crappy car and takes you to a crappy movie. I think when you decline a second date under such circumstances, you aren’t lacking a sense of adventure, you’re just having standards.
    Next time a strange hand lands on your knee (and you don’t want it there) just pick it up, place it in his lap and say, “Excuse me, is this yours? I think you dropped it.”

    • July 11, 2011 11:57 am

      I think his comment about being adventurous had more to do with rejecting the boating trip, but I’m okay with that.

  2. July 11, 2011 7:38 pm

    LOL that’s amazing. Guys will say anything to help lessen the sting of rejection – even denying that it was gonna be a date in the first place. Yeah, I’ll make sure I figure out how to write about that one anonymously.

    But hey, he liked you enough to ask you on a second date, so you didn’t do anything wrong during the first one 😀

    • July 12, 2011 2:57 am

      Hmm, I sense a story in there that I’d like to know about. Sounds like some guy you knew had a bad case of date denial!

Trackbacks

  1. Just Be Enough: I know I have to « Kiss Chronicles
  2. KC Movie Rec: 50/50 « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

