Skip to content

Bitter brew

July 13, 2011

On Monday, I had an opportunity to meet and talk with a woman who’s interested in Kiss Chronicles and who wanted to know more about the project. During the meeting, a significant piece of my puzzle got put together for me.

M.: So, all through college, you must have had opportunities to kiss someone. What about parties?

Virginia: I didn’t really go to parties in college. I went to some, but not many. I don’t drink, so I didn’t feel the need to go very often.

M.: You don’t drink?

Virginia: No, not really. A glass of wine with dinner sometimes, but that’s about it.

M.: (giving me a big grin and nodding firmly) That explains a lot.

And the light bulb went on for me. I’d never made that connection before, though now that I think about it, it’s obvious. If I were someone who went out drinking socially, my first kiss would have happened eons ago, and I wouldn’t be sitting here, blogging away. But noooo, I just had to be a straight-laced ninny.

Here’s the deal: Alcohol doesn’t do much for me. I’m disgustingly chipper without any sort of stimulant. I’ve been called “bubbly” before, much to my chagrin. Alcohol is a depressant. It brings me down, making me mellow and quiet rather than boisterous and outgoing. If someone were to say to me, “Let’s go out and have a fun time tonight!” I would never immediately connect that with drinking, just because to me drinking means being chilled out, not having a blast.

Of course beverage preference isn’t the only reason for my lack of smooch history, but it’s a factor. It’s one more piece of the puzzle that answers the question “Why in the name of fuzzy fungus hasn’t this happened yet?”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Meanwhile, in a completely different and slightly off-topic vein, I’m going to kick my Netflix to the curb before the rate hike. I have mixed feelings about this. Without Netflix Instant Watch, I’ll watch fewer bad movies, and my soul will be cleaner and lighter because of that. However, I’ll have fewer opportunities and convenience for catching bad or funny kiss moments to point at on this blog with mocking glee.

Despite my inner conflict, Netflix is going to get the ol’ kiss off from me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 9:11 am

    An alcohol-induced kiss isn’t much for the trophy case, don’t you think?

    • July 19, 2011 1:58 am

      At this point, even that would do the trick, but I like my solution a lot better than hitting a bar and kissing some random guy. XD

Leave a Reply

