Skip to content

Confidence

July 26, 2011

Maybe you have at some point looked at the KC project and asked yourself “Why is she doing this?” If you have, you’re not alone. I ask myself why I’m doing this on a regular basis, and the question is usually followed by a private moment of panic because I can’t answer it. I could list off a couple dozen reasons, all of them factors that motivated the start of the project, but none of them would be the reason. There is no the reason.

I’ve been thinking a lot about confidence in the past couple of days. Confidence is a noun defined as “full trust; belief in the powers, trustworthiness, or reliability of a person or thing” or “the quality or state of being certain” (Dictionary.com, Webster’s).

That’s a nice, textbook summary. It doesn’t come close to covering the importance of confidence, though. Where does confidence come from? If it leaves, where does it go?

I’m not now, nor have I ever been a particularly self-confident person. (Don’t mistake that for self-esteem issues — that’s not what I’m talking about.) I think, more accurately, I’ve always had a tendency to take my confidence cues off of other people, things, ideas, whatever. Now that I’ve been sitting down to think about it in depth, that’s a much more fragile approach to being confident. Of course, that’s not to say self-confidence can’t be fragile.

For this project, I can’t afford to do things my normal way. I can’t afford to approach this without self-confidence.

Why am I doing this? Because I can.

There. Cheesy self-confidence mantra established. Now I just have to repeat that to myself a few thousand times.

What do you take confidence in? What hurts your confidence? What increases your confidence? Just curious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 1:38 am

    I am with you V. How many people would be able to put this together? Not many. I am happy you are doing your thing!

    • July 28, 2011 2:45 am

      Thanks, Jason! Still a long way to go on this, and I’m glad you’ll be following along. 😉

Leave a Reply

