Skip to content

Quick, give me a kiss

July 31, 2011

I just watched the movie Inception this past week. I know, I know β€” it came out a year and a half ago, and it was a big deal. Everybody saw it, and everybody was talking about it. I’m very late to the game, just watching it now, a year and a half later. At least it didn’t take me 30 years, right?

So I was coasting along, enjoying the movie, and this unexpected kiss scene blindsided me. It was one of those moments where my expectation got turned on its head so thoroughly that all I could do was laugh my heart out. Here it is:

Brilliant! Brilliant! Arthur, you sly devil you, stealing that kiss in a serious moment of the film where no kiss even had the right to be. One thing really sold the laugh, though: It was Ariadne’s (Ellen Page’s) quietly stunned moment of realization, as her brain kicked in and I could see the character asking herself the stuttering questions, “Did-did he really just…? No. But he did. Was he only…?”

Guys, all two or three of you gents who are reading this blog, I triple dog dare you to steal a kiss from some girl with as much savoir faire as Arthur (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) did in that scene. If you’ve done so already, I’d love to hear about it! Any stolen kiss stories out there?

With that little tidbit, I’m going to keep this post short and sweet, and I’ll return to my Kiss Chronicles research. Thank goodness for the Internet, right? Oh, and I got myself a present for the project today, which should arrive in the mail this week: Did you know there’s a book entitled The Science of Kissing?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 4:46 am

    You don’t need a book, just go with the feeling.:-)

    • August 1, 2011 1:21 am

      Oh no, it’s not actually a book on HOW to kiss. The book is actually approaching kissing from a scientific perspective. Why did kissing first start? Why does kissing appeal to us? Etc. πŸ™‚ I’m really looking forward to reading it.

  2. July 31, 2011 4:47 am

    I don’t think anyone has the savoir faire of JGL. As a friend of mine commented the other night while watching 500 Days of Summer*, “Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel are impossibly beautiful people.”

    * Highly recommended, if you haven’t seen it already.

    • August 1, 2011 1:24 am

      β€œ500 Days of Summer has been added to your queue.” Good thing I still have a little time left on my account.

Trackbacks

  1. Perchance to dream « Kiss Chronicles
  2. Why I don’t blog about celebrity kisses « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

