Skip to content

Kiss it and make it better

August 4, 2011

I was having a bad day. The bad day has been fixed now.

Ways my bad day was fixed:

  • Dumb luck: I arrived home to find that The Science of Kissing was sitting in my mailbox, along with the other two books I’d ordered. Spectacular timing!
  • Junk food: My culinary delinquency of choice tonight was Chinese takeout and mint Oreos. Win!
  • Good friend: Rachael is made of fuzzy kittens, candy canes, and that giddy feeling you get when you pop bubble wrap.
  • A paper kiss: Well, I couldn’t get a real kiss to make it all better. That’d be cheating.

Need a paper kiss? Here’s the video I found:

I don’t have any origami paper, so I decided to make some of my own. I used red kissy lips as clip art and pasted them all over a sheet of Word paper, as modeled by my one-eyed darling, Zing:
Origami kiss paper and Zing kitty

Zing’s not impressed. She’d rather be putting more noseprints on my window. Wait, noseprints? Excuse me while I clean that.

Back! I cut my homemade sheet down to a square. I then watched the video to make my origami kissing lips. It goes pretty fast, so I was cursing at it and pausing constantly. You can see what turned out below. Notice that the cat is absent. She didn’t want anything to do with my construction, which turned out more like a gaping maw than a pair of cute lips.
Origami Kissing Lips, aka "Chuckles"

I’m naming my creation “Chuckles.” In hindsight, I should have had my particular print on the outside rather than the inside. Oh well. Room for improvement for next time.

By the way, I’m giving 100 Kiss Chronicles points to anyone who completes a pair of Kissing Lips and sends me a picture. The points are nonredeemable, but fun to collect, much like the points for Who’s Line is it Anyway? were. Did you ever keep score at home?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:10 pm

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

    • August 15, 2011 11:07 pm

      Hey, Ozell. Thank you so much for the comment! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog so far. And double thank you for sharing it with others — that’s the best present a blogger could ask for.

Leave a Reply

