Skip to content

Give and take

September 19, 2011

This post’s theme is give and take.

Give: Pinterest! 😀

I have kissy pictures to share with you! A couple weeks ago, I finally discovered Pinterest. (Yes, I know, I’m late to the craze. We’ve established that I’m well behind the curve in the majority of areas. I have not the slightest bit of hipster in my body.) If you don’t know what Pinterest is, I sympathize over your lack of hipster cred, and I’ll just tell you that it’s a site that allows you to create giant pinboards of whatever images you find on the web. See a pic you like and want to be able to find it later? Pin it! Want to gather images for inspiration for a project you’re working on? Pin them!

So I’ve been working on building The Best Kissing Pinboard on the Face of Planet Earth, although I shortened the title so that it’s just the Kiss Chronicles pinboard. It’ll be a continual work in progress because I can just keep adding to it to my heart’s content. Please, check it out!

I’m not leaving it at that, though. I’ve also created the You Pin Kisses! pinboard and set it up so that other members of Pinterest can contribute to it…theoretically. Nobody’s pinned anything yet.

KC Mission for YOU: If you’d like, I welcome you to join Pinterest and contribute to the You Pin Kisses! pinboard.  But really, it’s okay if you don’t because there’s no way the KC readers are going to make a kissing pinboard as great as mine. I will have the best kissing pinboard in the world, mark my words.

Take: BlogHer D:

I can’t apply to BlogHer, which I was talking about in my previous post. I can’t run ads on my blog because I use the WordPress free-hosted service, which means I can’t apply to BlogHer unless I self-host the blog or switch to another service, neither of which I’m going to do right now.

Joining BlogHer was a want, not a need, but still…grrr.

Give: A blue ribbon! 😀

A while back, I promised you pictures of the blue prostate cancer ribbon I was going to place next to the breast cancer pin on a filing cabinet at work. I did that on the first day of the month and took pictures, but I’ve been slow to upload the pictures as promised. They’re slightly fuzzy, but I’ll just call that ambiance.

Before:

Aww, it’s lonely.

After:

Together at last!

And if you’re curious, yes, somebody did spy me taking pictures of random awareness objects on the filing cabinet. She desperately wanted to know what I was doing snapping pictures at work but was reluctant to make eye contact with me. I have no idea why. I smiled very politely.

Take: The pink ribbon pin (?!)

At some point later, after I’d placed my blue ribbon, I found that the pink ribbon pin had been removed. This removal came after months of it sitting there without any of my fellow worker bees so much as breathing on it. The blue ribbon remains. I’m curious to see whether the pink ribbon pin will make a return on the first of October. The ribbon saga is to be continued….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 3:03 am

    I recently discovered Pinterest, too. I haven’t pinned anything yet, but I will be on the lookout for kisses!

    • September 30, 2011 6:37 pm

      Oh oh oh! Where can I find you on Pinterest? I want to follow you. I can also add you as a collaborator for the You Pin Kisses! board so you can pin kisses there if you want to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

