Skip to content

Just Be Enough: I know I have to

October 4, 2011

As I explore the blogosphere on a daily basis, I keep finding neat initiatives. A lot of people out there want to make a difference. I’ve found a blog site called Just Be Enough that’s about encouragement and standing taller together in the bloggy world. (No, I did not just start singing “I’m a bloggy girl in a bloggy woooorld.” “Come on blogging, let’s go blogging.” Actually…yes I did, but I’m properly ashamed of it.)

The Just Be Enough prompt this week is What is your “I knew I had to…” moment?

Oh for the love of…are you kidding me? I’m getting hit upside the head with “I know I have to” moments daily. I’m living in a world of “I know I have to.”

Woah. Stop. Wait. Back it up a few months to the original “I knew I had to” moment for this project.

Want to know the truth? I joked about where the inspiration for the Kiss Chronicles came from in a post way back when, but the truth is that the idea came to me out of thin air. I was sitting around and pondering my problem: I can no longer stand the fact that I’m kissless at 30. When the idea to monetize the kiss for a charity seeped into my brain from some passing, formless void, I just knew I had to do it.

Stop. Wait. Back it up even farther. What made that an “I knew I had to” moment for me?

What’s my problem? Sure, so I’m lacking in the boyfriend and dating department. That wouldn’t necessarily rule out kissing. If I really wanted a kiss, why haven’t I gone out and gotten a kiss? Trust me, I’ve thought of that option multiple times in the past years. It wouldn’t be hard, theoretically. I could get a girlfriend or two, go out, and get a kiss from some guy or other. But every time I thought of that “just get a kiss and call it done” method, the idea repelled me. It’s simply…not in my nature. Whether you want to call me reserved or repressed or shy or whatever, it doesn’t matter. The “just get a kiss” method makes my stomach flutter in the “I’m gonna hurl” way rather than an “oh wow, a kiss, what will it be like?” kind of way.

So when, finally, the idea of essentially donating my first kiss to charity idea popped into my head and made my heart start racing…I knew I had to do it. That, to me, would be a kiss and a dream worth chasing. Dozens of “I knew I had to” moments have followed since then. I knew I had to include other people’s stories of kisses in the blog. I knew I had to start finding my way in the huge labyrinth of the blogosphere and asking people to join me for this journey. I knew I had to commit, despite my initial hesitation, to making this project for a charity that’s about something deeply personal to me, cancer (ptooey!).

Right now, the big one is that I know I have to start asking for help. It’s the hardest one of all.

And, in my best lighthearted Sesame Street voice…this post has been brought to you by the word BE:

Also, just a reminder: PLEASE SEND ME KISS STORIES! kisschronicles [@] gmail.com (I can post anonymously as needed.)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 1:26 am

    I love how your blog came into be! I will have to think of a good kiss story and pass it on 😉

    • October 5, 2011 2:24 am

      I’d be much obliged, ma’am. *tip of the hat* (You know, I ought to start opening the doors to fictional stories as well as true stories, though they’d have to be clearly labeled. Hmm, possibilities!)

  2. October 5, 2011 2:59 pm

    V-tyan, The idea of auctioning off your first kiss is clever. My hope is that some SINGLE honorable gentlemen amongst your age demographics [or younger ;)] will step up to make it worthwhile. You have some amazing qualities that I’m hopeful you will let shine on your blog, so folks know what they are buying. At the same time, Confucius or Freud says, “dig deeper.” Perhaps, you need to reflect on the why you might be able to star in your own movie of “never been kissed.” Let’s investigate the “hurl” issue. ;)-

    • October 5, 2011 11:43 pm

      You’re right. It’s definitely time to dig deeper. There’s stuff down there inside me that I’ve never found, and as I dig, the mission gets clearer.

      For the auction, that was the original idea. I’ve decided to go with the plan of holding a donation war (http://kisschronicles.com/the-mission/). The idea wasn’t my own, but it’s going to be much more amazing than an auction.

  3. October 5, 2011 10:35 pm

    You clearly have a big and giving heart – I wish you all the success you deserve for your amazing project!

    • October 5, 2011 11:38 pm

      Oh dang, I’m blushing. Thank you so much. I plan to provide some entertainment along the journey for this project, too!

  4. October 6, 2011 9:29 am

    That sounds like a really lovely project. I don’t think I could do the ‘just-to-get-a-kiss’ too but for your kind of project, I might do that too. I’m cheering for you from the other side of the world!

    • October 6, 2011 9:26 pm

      Thank you so much for your support. I’m waving to you from this side of the world right now! *wave wave wave*

  5. October 6, 2011 6:35 pm

    I think it’s lovely that you don’t want to give your first kiss to just anybody. You (and your lips) are more important than that. 🙂

    • October 6, 2011 9:27 pm

      True, but I WILL be asking the guys who participate in the KC Donation War to risk their own lips for the cause. LOL Gotta find brave guys.

  6. October 7, 2011 1:49 pm

    Wow, this is an exciting project! I’m looking forward to hearing more of this journey you’re on. Good for you for finding a way to chase your goal on your own terms.

  7. October 8, 2011 12:32 am

    Cool project! Good luck!

  8. October 8, 2011 11:40 pm

    Wow, I am impressed! Thanks for sharing your story on Just Be Enough. And thank you for making that Bloggy World song stay in my head!

Leave a Reply

