Skip to content

Dreams and dances

October 9, 2011

Q: How long has it been since I’ve posted a first kiss story?
A: I can’t remember, which means it’s been too long.

I could tell you about the fact that I dreamed up a kiss for myself this past Friday night. There’s not much to it: I was sitting across from a dark-haired guy at a cement table, and he got up and leaned forward over it, so I did the same, and we kissed. Even before the dream kiss ended, my stomach was starting to roil because I knew that I would have to tell everybody that Kiss Chronicles is over, finito, finished. Despite enjoying the kiss, my dream self was stressing.

Dreams don’t count as real first kisses, right?

See, I shouldn’t have told you about that. I should have told you my dream from earlier in the week with animated Spider-Man tombstones. That would have at least been interesting and appropriate for the Halloween season.

The following kiss story did in fact occur in the real world and not in dreamland:

My first kiss occurred when I was in eighth grade. I had been going out with a seventh grader for a couple of months. Our grade school had a couple of dances each year for the older grades, and this was the first one I had been to where I had a date. Being one of the few guys in my class who didn’t mind cutting the rug a bit, I’m sure I was rocking out on the dance floor, which was in our school basement, to some great late ’90’s music.

Toward the end of the evening, my date and I made our way up the back stairwell. We sat on the steps outside the third-grade hallway and talked for a bit. I think we were both nervous because we were both thinking that this could be our first kiss. Finally, I manned up, pursed my lips and leaned. She did the same, and I suspect we had a pretty typical first smooch. “That was nice,” she said. I agreed, and we tried it one more time before making our way back down to the basement for a couple more songs and then waiting for our parents to come pick us up. That relationship lasted nine months, pretty long I think for that period of young people’s lives. When I went on to high school, we drifted apart.

I saw her a few times after high school at friends’ parties, and on one occasion our first kiss came up during a conversation. It seemed that she had remembered it as well.

~Ben

Want to know a secret? I have a matched set of first kiss stories in this case! Ben’s a married guy, and I have his wife’s first kiss story lined up for a future post.

Want to know another secret? The reason I’m not posting a lot of first kiss stories is because I don’t have many. I have only a couple stored up right now. What I ask you to do is this: Go out into the world, strike up conversations about kissing, and send people to me with their great stories. I want all kinds of kiss stories: first, last, funny, sad, lousy, embarrassing, poignant, and so on. And ONIONS! I can’t believe I haven’t gotten a kiss story involving onion breath yet! Stories go to kisschronicles [@] gmail.com.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 1:10 pm

    I will try to find stories for you. My first kiss was completely uninspiring. I had braces. We were in the school hallway. The bus was coming. It was really rushed and then I think we both sprinted away from each other. Not exactly the stuff of romance. Given how surprised (and somewhat scared) I was, it might make for a scene in a horror movie. 😉

    • October 12, 2011 11:31 am

      I shall have to lure you into submitting some other kiss story. I’m on the hunt for more than just first kiss stories, though first kiss stories have a special place in my heart.

      Horror movie? Really? Hm. I wonder if your erstwhile kisser was just as surprised/scared.

  2. October 12, 2011 5:09 am

    Hahaha! I love those awkward moments the memories 🙂

    • October 12, 2011 11:32 am

      Same! I’m starting to think that the majority of first kisses involve about 70-75% awkwardness. I wonder whether I can do studies on the data I get over time. LOL

Leave a Reply

