Skip to content

Halloween at Kiss Chronicles

October 26, 2011

Halloween is in the air. I’m sure of it now because I saw a smashed pumpkin in a median divider when driving home from work today. Well, most of a smashed pumpkin.

I’m, I admit, bad with scary movies. I may not have had my first kiss, but I do have a first scary movie story! I was in first or second grade, and I was at a classmate’s house after school, along with a couple other kids, because my classmate’s mother was our babysitter. The movie of choice that day was The Monster Squad. I know now, looking at the trailer, that it was pure camp and humor, but at the time it scared the pants off me. For weeks after watching it, as I walked to school each morning, I was convinced that vampires or mummies were hiding around corners and waiting for me. (Notably, I always thought the monsters were hiding around the corner on the street where my classmate lived.) I ended up getting extra exercise by running half way to school.

Scary movies still aren’t my speed, though I’ve gotten a little bit better. Despite my fright, I’ve always loved Halloween. For me, it’s all about the costumes, the thrill of dressing up, getting creative, and donning a mask for a little while.

If you haven’t thought of a costume yet, I found a possibility for you, Kiss Chronicles style!

Source: clickcostumes.com via Virginia on Pinterest

Why didn’t I think of that?! The source is an online costume shop. You can get it for $50 (wow, rather steep for some cardboard and tiny curtains), but it’d be pretty easy to make. What’s needed? It looks like the vital materials are cardboard, red sheet paper for covering, two elastic strips to make arm straps, some curtain fabric, and a couple of signs advertising the kissing booth.

Do you remember your first scary movie? What about your first Halloween costume?

* * *

Shout out: To the University of Indianapolis theatre staff and students. Thanks for letting me come visit and talk to you, and you did a great job on Arms and the Man!

“It’s so hard to know what a gentleman considers right. I thought from your trying to kiss me that you had given up being so particular.” ~Louka, from Bernard Shaw’s Arms and the Man

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 8:03 pm

    Eekks! One of my first scary movies was was either Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday 13th they kind of blur in together. I didn’t sleep for weeks!

    • October 26, 2011 9:50 pm

      You know, I’d kind of like to watch Nightmare on Elm Street just so I can get all the cultural references to it…but I’m scaaared. *hides* And, same as you, I likely wouldn’t sleep for weeks.

  2. October 27, 2011 6:04 pm

    My first monster movie was Young Frankenstein. It still makes me so happy. The first scary movie I remember was Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark, which they recently remade. The original looks way less creepy than the new one, but it scared me just the same.

    • October 27, 2011 9:25 pm

      Oh man, now I need to go rewatch Young Frankenstein. You know, Marty Feldman really makes that movie.

      Meanwhile… *hides from the scary movies*

  3. October 27, 2011 8:47 pm

    I love scary movies! The two best, scariest, movies I ever saw were both black and white. For some reason, once color became popular, the scariness quotient dimished. For me, at least. Those films were Psycho and The Haunting (1963 version). Hitchcock’s The Birds was not scary except that I was 15 when I first saw it at a Saturday matinee. Walking home through a back alley I heard a thump and turned around to see a dead bird tumble off a roof. Dead! No one has ever adequately explained the coincidence. I think that is when my hair first turned white!

    • October 27, 2011 9:27 pm

      I think maybe that’s the power of The Birds (and Hitchcock). It’s not the movie that’ll scare you. It’s all of the lingering images from the movie that you’ll have to see again in the real world!

      I’d like to be able to watch Psycho some day. I have to get up the gumption for it first!

  4. October 31, 2011 1:36 am

    Scary movies scare me, which is obviously the point … but I’d rather watch a musical and have silly songs in my head than heads in my soup. Happy Halloween ~ Patricia

    • October 31, 2011 11:30 am

      I’m with you! More songs, fewer decapitations. Happy Halloween to you as well. I’m just about ready to start getting dressed up for work right now. 🙂

  5. October 31, 2011 3:16 pm

    Oh Virginia, I must have put down my website address incorrectly as it said you needed access and it should just come up …. so sorry … The Dolls Are Alright’s latest post is at http://www.thedollsarealright.net/?p=965. Have a very fun Halloween ~ Patricia

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Halloween! « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

