Skip to content

Positive 11

November 11, 2011

I was up early this morning, early being 2 a.m. because I woke up and couldn’t get back to sleep. By the time I needed to get moving and start the day, my brain was already a tired jumble of thoughts.

I checked Twitter, and a random thought occurred to me: Do an experiment. To celebrate the special date, make a conscious effort to do 11 positive things and tweet about them. Decision made, I went to it immediately. Here’s what came of the experiment:

I had a lot of fun with this. It’s something I’d like to do again in the future. Who knows? Maybe I can get some other people to do it with me for a day, perhaps a #positive12 on December 12th. Is anybody interested? It wouldn’t necessarily have to be tweets, just a list published somewhere.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary Phillips permalink
    November 12, 2011 5:10 am

    Positive One – Woke bright and early with a smile 🙂
    Positive Two – Balanced my budget
    Positive Three – Chatted with my Grandson on facebook
    Positive Four – Had a serious meeting with my spouse and both of us remained creative throughout difficult and challenging decision making
    Positive Five – Fixed us a great lunch: Grilled tuna and cheese on an awesome whole grain bread + tomato wedges
    Positive Six – Wrote an important email to a cousin of my husband
    Positive Seven – Invited my husband on a date
    Positive Eight – Saw movie: J Edgar – well done!
    Positive Nine – Finally used that $ 40.00 gift certificate to Ri Ra’s (Irish Pub) in Portland
    Positive Ten – Had an awesome dinner and dessert
    Positive Eleven – Responded to Virginia’s request to list eleven positives things I did today

    • November 12, 2011 6:45 pm

      I have the best Aunt Mary I could ever ask for.

      And fantastic! It sounds like you had a delightful date. Please tell my uncle “hallo!” from me.

  2. November 14, 2011 2:18 am

    I’ll do it! Name the date. Although because I don’t understand how Twitter works, I will have to blog about it. That ok?

    • November 14, 2011 8:00 pm

      Oh, this is SO game on. Plan on a Positive 12 for December 12. 😀 Twitter not required — all that’s needed is a list of results posted somewhere on the Internet. 🙂 I’m going to get this ready in advance and try to get others involved.

  3. November 14, 2011 7:32 pm

    I’d do it!

    • November 14, 2011 8:01 pm

      Oh hell yeah. Okay, start keeping December 12th in mind for a Positive 12. I’ll get this little game set up and get it rolling. So glad you’re in!

  4. November 17, 2011 3:12 pm

    I’m in, though some things that seem positive to me (like firing an unproductive employee) might seem negative to others (the unproductive employee). But since I have no employees, I guess that’s not a problem. I really have no idea what I’m saying. Except that, YES, I’m in. It sounds exciting. Maybe I’ll start practicing? Do one positive thing a day until December 12? See what it feels like?

    • November 17, 2011 3:50 pm

      Oh this is so exciting already! I’m so glad you’re in, Doc.

      And yes, actually, practice will be helpful. I actually found it difficult to find 11 really distinctive, positive actions to list — I almost ran out of time. I might do some practice myself between now and Dec. 12.

  5. November 17, 2011 4:33 pm

    What a nice idea. Good for you. I might be down with positive 12 – if I remember. 😉 Sometimes with Twitter it does feel like you’re yelling into the canyon and the echo’s not coming back, doesn’t it? Or is that just me?

    • November 17, 2011 4:56 pm

      Oh no, that’s not just you. It definitely feels like yelling in a canyon, but when you find the right voices that you can harmonize with, it starts to sound beautiful. (Attack of the metaphors!) Thanks so much for stopping by.

      I’ll send you a personal invite to participate when the date gets closer! I’m writing a “save the date” post for now to start planting/spreading the idea, and I’ll do an official post later.

  6. November 17, 2011 11:11 pm

    Sign me up! I will do a positive 12! Love the idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

