Skip to content

Perchance to dream

December 10, 2011

This is a post about what it means to be a dreamer. Quote from YouTube: “Lindsey Miller, age 26, has pancreatic neuroendocrine cancer. And she’s ready to start dating. In this video, she asks Joseph Gordon-Levitt out for coffee.”

Here’s the video, “Girl with cancer asks 50/50 star on date”:

Over Thanksgiving, one of my cousins gave me the heads up about this video. He’d found it noted in a newspaper clipping. When the clip was placed in the paper, the video had 142,993 views. It’s a few weeks later now, and the video is close to reaching 380,000 views. Furthermore, it has over 1,800 comments.

Several of the comments are nice and warm-hearted. Plenty of comments are anything but warm-hearted. Some are downright crappy.

Trolls happen. It’s the Internet. There is no escaping trolls on the Internet. They don’t OWN the Internet, though, much as they’d like to think they do. I just wish the video had more positive comments to drown out the negative ones. I’m adding a positive comment of my own as I put up this post.

Some of the comments have basically called what she’s doing emotional blackmail. Some have said that she’s put Joseph Gordon-Levitt in a position where he either has to agree or get called an asshole. I don’t think so. There’s such a thing as a “graceful decline,” which is a respectful no, but I guess a lot of people, trolls especially, don’t understand that it’s possible to be tactful in this day and age. As I see it, one of three things will happen for Lindsey: She’ll get no response at all from JGL, she’ll get an acceptance of the offer, or she’ll receive an extremely polite decline that will leave her satisfied because her invitation was acknowledged. What’s more, at this point for her, no matter which of those three things happens, she wins because she had the guts to try. She’s done something wild, she stuck her neck out, and she’s willing to accept whatever comes from it. That’s what it means to be a dreamer. It’s unfortunate that more people don’t understand that.

Lindsey, I say screw the trolls. Don’t listen to them. Listen to Kermit!

I’m glad I did my homework and clicked around on links. It looks like Lindsey’s a fellow blogger: I Am a Liver. YAAAAAY! (Picture me doing a Kermit flail.)

* * *

Being a dreamer can also be rough. My head’s been spinning for a few weeks now, in a mental funk. Dreams don’t always come easy. I’ve been working on writing the book for Kiss Chronicles, but I’ve let other things slide. I owe people replies from messages and emails. I’m still eager to do Positive 12 on Monday, though I haven’t done the prep I’ve kept meaning to do. More on that tomorrow.

Oh great googlymoogly, I have to go Christmas shopping. Ahhh! *flail*

Wait wait wait, one more thing: If you haven’t noticed it yet, I have a new poll in the blog sidebar, “How old were you when you had your first kiss?” If you haven’t already, please take a second and send your response!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 12:56 am

    You should check out the film My Date With Drew – a guy’s quest to get a date with Drew Barrymore. I believe it’s still on Netflix streaming.

Leave a Reply

