Skip to content

FWOOM — 3 months later

June 16, 2012

FWOOM is the sound of three and a half months passing by. I bet you didn’t know that time can make a noise.

I thought about apologizing for not keeping up with my blogging, but at the same time, I don’t want to make excuses. So rather than subjecting you to my personal brand of awkwardness, I’m going to just dive in and give an update.

Although I haven’t been blogging in the past months, I haven’t been idle. I completed the first draft of the book a while back, and since then, I’ve been submitting the book chapter by chapter to my weekly writing group, Pen to Paper. I’ve gotten invaluable feedback from the group members, which I’m using to improve the book. Several of the criticisms have been “expand this part and that part,” so my editing process involves adding significant chunks of new material. Type type typity, read back, tear some hair, rewrite rewrite, eat some chocolate, delete, growl at cat for walking in front of computer, rewrite, type type typity — that’s roughly what my editing activity looks like in a repetitive loop.

Right now I’m making a big push to get the book cleaned up to the point where I can call it the second draft. As soon as I have Draft 2, I’ll ship it out to the three readers I have lined up and ready. Their mission, should they choose to accept it, is to read through the book and give me more feedback. Then I’ll take their responses, make more changes as needed, and arrive at the third draft.

When I have Draft 3, it’ll be time to contact the charity and apply to run my fundraising project. Thinking about that gives me all sorts of tummy butterflies.

I still have a lot to do, and I have butterflies to battle, but times are exciting right now. So knock on wood, cross fingers and toes, keep a four-leaf clover close to your heart, and blow me a kiss for good luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2012 5:18 pm

    Nice to see you back, Virginia. Talk to me about that book cover soon, okay?

Leave a Reply

