Skip to content

12 Kiss quotes by William Shakespeare

July 17, 2012

I went scouring the Internet for Shakespearean quotes about kissing. Why, though, did I have to scour? Shouldn’t there have already been a compiled list of the best ones? Yet, I didn’t find such a list. I’m sure someone out there on the vast interwebs has put together the top kiss quotes by Will, but it didn’t come up on the first page of my Google search, which is ridiculous. I’m going to rectify that problem right now.

Note: I double-checked the quotes against my copy of The Complete Works of Shakespeare, but call me out if I made a boo boo somewhere.

1. Twelfth Night, Act 2, scene 3, said by Feste:

“In delay there lies no plenty.
Then come kiss me, sweet and twenty;
Youth’s a stuff will not endure.”

Feste, the fool, is singing a song that mocks the young lovers of the play, pointing out that they ought to kiss and make merry while they’re still young. Very quotable.

2. “Venus and Adonis” is a monstrously long poem with plenty of smooching quotes in it. Here are just a few:

“A thousand kisses buys my heart from me;
And pay them at thy leisure, one by one.”

“Is twenty hundred kisses such a trouble?”

“Ten kisses short as one, one long as twenty”

What is it with Shakespeare and twenty? However, that oddity aside, those would make great pickup lines.

3. Richard III, Act 1, scene 2, said by Richard:

“Teach not thy lip such scorn, for it was made
For kissing, lady, not for such contempt.”

I don’t recommend that as a pickup line.

4. Romeo and Juliet, Act 5, scene 3, said by Romeo:

“Thus with a kiss I die.”

I think the excessive monologging killed him, not the poison.

5. Sonnets to Sundry Notes of Music, IV

“Were kisses all the joys in bed,
One woman would another wed.”

I suspect Shakespeare of being a progressive.

6. The Taming of the Shrew, Act 5, scene 1, said by Petruchio:

“Why, there’s a wench! Come on, and kiss me, Kate.”

Not a good pickup line, even if the girl’s name is Kate.

7. Coriolanus, Act 5, scene 3, said by Coriolanus:

“O, a kiss
Long as my exile, sweet as my revenge!
Now, by the jealous queen of heaven, that kiss I carried from thee, dear, and my true lip
Hath virgined it e’er since.”

It may be a quote, but it isn’t easily quotable. Try slipping that into a conversation some day.

8. Othello, Act 5, scene 2, said by Othello:

“I kissed thee ere I killed thee. No way but this,
Killing myself, to die upon a kiss.”

9. King John, Act 2, scene 1, said by the Duke of Austria:

“Upon thy cheek I lay this zealous kiss, as seal to the indenture of my love.”

Another righteous pickup line.

10. The Second Part of King Henry VI, Act 1, Scene 1, said by Henry VI:

“I can express no kinder sign of love, than this kind kiss.”

11. King Lear, Act 4, scene 6:

Gloucester: O, let me kiss that hand!
Lear: Let me wipe it first; it smells of mortality.

12. Romeo and Juliet, Act 1, scene 5, between Romeo and Juliet. Basically, the whole scene that starts with this by Romeo…

“If I profane with my unworthiest hand
This holy shrine, the gentle fine is this:
My lips, two blushing pilgrims, ready stand
To smooth that rough touch with a tender kiss.”

and ends with this by Juliet…

“You kiss by th’ book.”

I’m not even going to make a wisecrack. It’s a masterful flirtation.

And…FWOOSH! Another month went by since the last post. Somehow, I have to break my irregular posting habit. How about I promise you that the next post will be a kiss story post?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2013 8:57 am

    i love quotes about the same topic! also.. my bf picked up a copy of strunk & white for me for valentines day… in the foreward, it mentions multiple times how this book and shakespeare are the only books a writer needs to own.. do you agree? i’m curious now! i dont have any shakespeare in my life.

    • February 19, 2013 9:41 am

      Shakespeare is a wonderful thing to have in one’s life, but there are SO many great books in the world! I’d feel a little empty if I had only Shakespeare, even though I love his work.

      Wouldn’t a writer saying “I need only Strunk & White and Shakespeare” be kind of like an artist saying “I need only Monet and Picaso”? There’s so much more to read/see!

  2. Riley permalink
    March 16, 2013 12:19 am

    wonderful Shakespearian quotes on kissing……my love in prison sends kisses so regularly, I don’t know how to return them……

Leave a Reply

