Skip to content

Why I don’t blog about celebrity kisses

August 23, 2012

It would be so very easy for me to make blog posts about celebrities kissing. For instance, I frequently browse through Yahoo! News, and yesterday I noticed an article about Taylor Swift kissing her beau, picture included. There was also the Kristin Steward debacle recently, which involved some scandalous kissing pics. And not terribly long ago, President Obama and Michelle got caught on the Kiss Cam and shared a sweet smooch.

No celebritiesCelebrity kisses would be easy blog fodder for me. They also might help me draw in a young audience (or, to be honest, any audience), which I’d love to attract. So why haven’t I been writing about those moments? Well, this isn’t a blog about celebs, and I don’t want it to be. Unless it’s an extraordinarily awe-inspiring or special kiss, I’m not going to post about celebrities getting into lip locks.

Note: I’m not talking about on-screen kisses. All cinematic kisses are fair game for either praise or mockery.

Reasons why I eschew blogging about celebrity kisses:

  • Celebs already get plenty of attention. I’d rather use my blogging time to give attention to ordinary people who don’t normally get interviewed and/or admired. I find it more interesting to tell the stories of people who otherwise might never be heard. (Just as a reminder, I’m always accepting new kiss story submissions for the blog!)
  • The pictures usually disappoint. The paparazzi are just hoping to get the shot at all. The aesthetics go missing in the pursuit of a quick buck.
  • Often, there’s little story aside from the smooch. For instance, the story I read about the Taylor Swift kiss was yawn-inducing and made me wonder why someone thought it was newsworthy.
  • Some of those celebs want privacy and can’t get it. Is it silly of me to say that I sometimes feel kind of bad for them? Because I do. A lot of celebrities go to great lengths to keep a little bit of their lives to themselves.

Maybe I’m shooting myself in the foot. Maybe I’m being too picky and should take whatever interesting tidbit I can if it’ll help my blog. If so, oh well. I’m okay with being a kiss snob.

On the other hand, I know I can do a lot better about coming up with interesting kissing news, not involving celebs. Time for me to get to work!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2012 10:30 pm

    I have been tempted to blog about Prince Harry and his birthday suit. I may have even drew a picture because sometimes princes just want to have fun 😉

    • August 24, 2012 6:17 pm

      His birthday suit? Okay, see I was avoiding reading articles about that, so all I knew before this was that he’d been out partying and was “scandalous” (oh my!). LOL, thanks for catching me up!

  2. August 24, 2012 5:04 pm

    No celebrity kisses! Celebrity mouths get way too much attention as it is, their kisses often seem mechanical and for the camera anyway. Yay you for not caving in! Of course, blogging about nekkid celebrities (as bellofthecarnival mentioned) could be fun! >;0}

    • August 24, 2012 6:21 pm

      They DO get a lot of attention! More attention for non-celebs, I say. And blogging about nekkid celebrities could be fun, but the disappointing problem is that I don’t get to pick which celebrities go out and get nekkid at parties. The world is cruel that way.

  3. August 24, 2012 10:48 pm

    You’re right about boring celebrity kisses…but I think the last 10 years of celebrites are boring…maybe it’s because most of the so-called celebrities are so-called celebrity stars…yawn…I too could be a celebrity star…I watch a lot of TV…eat too much food and on occasion over do alcohol while wearing a fake plastic cheese hat…and every night I kiss my picture of Ryan Braun goodnight, while telling my picture of my once beloved Brett Favre to “kiss my ass!” But that’s not the same thing…however, comment away on nekkid Prince Harry photos…although sadly, I’m not as excited as one could think…my theory is because I’ve seen that kid grow up…it’s almost more of “OK, what did my kid do now” photos…

    • September 12, 2012 8:08 pm

      I know people in their mid-20s who have never been kisesd (or kisesd someone else). It’s not about age. Don’t feel alone. So long as you tell your boyfriend it’s your first kiss, he’ll show you what to do, and he’ll make it work.

  4. barby1923 permalink
    September 17, 2012 11:58 am

    I totally agree with you on the celebrity kisses. Sometimes I wonder myself why I am boxing myself into a niche when I can easily do Nigerian fashion & celebrity stuff and get more views. But in the end, it is the satisfaction I get that matters most to me. Keep at it dear and you have sure been an inspiration to me too.
    Barbara
    http://barbsiesmusings.blogspot.com/
    Lagos, Nigeria

Trackbacks

  1. Supernova kiss on New Girl « Kiss Chronicles
  2. Kimmi Smiles’ cover song and first kiss caught on film | Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

