Skip to content

I am the Queen of Cakes

November 21, 2012

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! Well, almost. I’m just a smidge early, but it still counts. Me and my hours in the kitchen say that it counts.

Want to see what I’ve been up to? I’m kind of excited for tomorrow. I baked. Look, it’s a cake!

Marble cake

The practice cake

So, it turned out somewhat okay, but this was actually the practice cake I baked a week and a half ago. I’d never made a layer cake before, so I knew I needed to give myself a chance to make a mess of it the first time. And that’s exactly what I did. I royally borked the frosting, and if you bork the frosting, the whole cake suffers. It didn’t taste bad; it just wasn’t what it should have been. I also panicked about the whole domed-layers issue, which apparently is a standard problem.

I got advice from my neighbor, who is a baking wizard. She gave me all sorts of great ideas for improvement.

Marble chocolate cake

Et voila! The cake, she eez a masterpiece!

So I went back and did it again today, and it turned out like a VISION. I cackled like a mad scientist when I was certain it would come out the way I wanted it to.

The details: It’s a yellow-chocolate marble with lots of orange hints. I made both frosting flavors by hand, with butter cream on top.

The thing is, these cakes make a rather good metaphor. I always wish that I could get a job done right the very first time I try it, but few things ever turn out that way. I’m often too hard on myself when I fail to succeed at that first attempt, but I can improve each time I try something by making adjustments.

I’ve lost track of which iteration the Kiss Chronicles project has reached. At this point, the number no longer matters. What matters is that I have finally reached a point where the end is in sight.

I think, too, I might have borked this blog in general. I’ve been wondering lately if maybe it would be better off as more of a personal space and less laser-focused on the niches I chose to create it for. I want it to concentrate on the two niches, kissing and cancer charity, but maybe that’s just not what I’m best suited for blogging. I’m still giving that some more thought.

Meanwhile, tomorrow I’ll be celebrating with family (lots and lots of family) and friends. I sincerely hope you enjoy your Thanksgiving holiday, and even if you’re not in the U.S., have a great Thursday anyway!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 8:35 pm

    I love the metaphor – it’s so true! We really can improve with each adjustment we make and just keep rolling! I hope you find the right blogging formula that works for you. Write about what you love and enjoy it!

    Wishing you and your family a very lovely Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks

  1. More kissing, MORE! There can never be enough! « Kiss Chronicles

Leave a Reply

