Skip to content

Paperman (Animated short)

January 31, 2013

I went to see Wreck-It Ralph this past fall, and the animated short Paperman came before it. I was blown away. I liked the short even more than the full-length feature film.

This is a perfect example of why 2D cell animation should never completely go away. It’s also a fantastic example of storytelling without dialog. And, considering the fact that a kiss mark is a main feature of the story, I think I can get away with sharing it here as my kiss video of the week. Enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 11:10 pm

    That was cute. I really liked the section where he was sending the airplanes out his office window. So romantic.

  2. January 31, 2013 11:21 pm

    I just LOVE this! The power of a kiss, even an inadvertent one, is so marvelous! I’m sure this is a silly question, but did you see The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore? There is another one, about string people…such great films, that…sometimes…are more wonderful than full length features with actual people.

    • February 6, 2013 12:33 pm

      I have not seen The Fantastic Flying Books! It sounds intriguing though. I’ll have to go look it up and give it a watch if I can find it.

      Sometimes a story doesn’t need to be 2 hours. There are some full-length feature films that SHOULD be shorts.

  3. writingdianet permalink
    February 1, 2013 9:53 am

    This was ADORABLE! When she tucked her hair behind her ear at the end? That was AWESOME! I’m gonna post this on my FB page on Valentine’s Day:)

    • February 6, 2013 12:34 pm

      The hair-tuck moment — I KNOW! Sometimes it’s those tiny little movements in animation that are the most striking and convincing. They show that the animators really are actors. I’m sure posting this video on FB on V-day will go over beautifully. 🙂

Leave a Reply

