Skip to content

Supernova kiss on New Girl

February 7, 2013

According to the Internet buzz, in a recent episode of New Girl, there was a ZOMG SO HOT SUPER KISS. I, diligent kiss reporter that I am, looked up this kiss to review it. (No, this doesn’t count as being against my self-imposed rule to avoid covering celebrity kisses. This is an in-character kiss, which makes it fair game for blog fodder.)

That? That is a very, very good kiss. However, it didn’t make my head explode — okay, well, the little tiny follow-up smooch at 00:31 did, but I’m a sucker for follow-up pecks after big kisses. It’s a weakness.

The reason that the kiss as a whole didn’t entirely make my head explode is simple: I haven’t been watching the show, so I don’t have any attachment to Nick and Jess’s storyline.

In storytelling, there’s this lovely little tool called UST, or unresolved sexual tension. The trick for writers is to bring the UST to a full boiling point, make the audience absolutely hurt for the resolution, and then satisfy the audience. From what I understand, that’s what happened here with the Nick and Jess characters, and the audience’s collective head went supernova, scorching all over social media.

Now I really wish I’d been watching the show.

Are you a New Girl fan? How did you react to the kiss when you first watched it? And regardless of whether you’ve seen the show, what do you think of this kiss?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    February 10, 2013 11:38 pm

    I do watch the show and I was surprised that the kiss came so early. I would have thought the writers would have postponed the sexual tension for a few more years.

  2. February 15, 2013 1:56 pm

    I watch the show and had been waiting for this moment…it did not disappoint! However, there is still tension because they are not yet a couple. If they were, the show would probably be over.

Leave a Reply

