Skip to content

“Why Do We Kiss?” Misnamed video

May 9, 2013

Regarding the “Why Do We Kiss Video?” by Vsauce, it’s my duty as a kiss blogger to review it.

*grumble*

I admit, I noticed this video over a week ago when it was first released. It’s supposed to be a scientific take on kissing, and I had high hopes for it. I started watching it, thinking I’d review it, but then I stopped, rubbed my eyes, and walked away. I got frustrated when the video went on its first tangent about pizza, Pac-Man, and Chinese characters. I finally watched the rest, and it says very little about why we kiss for romantic reasons.

My problem is that this video ought to be called “How Does Attachment Work?” I’m pretty sure the video was named “Why Do We Kiss?” in order to be more catchy and SEO-friendly, which worked out well because it has 2.7+ million views and counting. Even at the start, Michael, a.k.a. Vsauce, says “Attachment” as the thought opener, and then he adds “…of two people kissing” as an afterthought. This video doesn’t answer the question “Why do we kiss?” It barely scratches the surface. If you want to know more about why we kiss, I recommend you (and Vsauce) pick up and read The Science of Kissing by Sheril Kirshenbaum. (No matter how many times I type it, I spell her name wrong every time.)

I’ll keep hoping Sheril Kisshenbomb (see, I did it again) eventually makes a scientific kissing video series. Meanwhile, here’s the real gem from the video: If you want to see something funny and horrifying, go straight to minute marker 3:40. EEEEAUUUGGHH! KILL IT WITH FIRE!

In other Kiss Chronicles news:

Linda Anselmi has posted a review of the Kiss Chronicles ebook over at Below the Salt News. It’s the very first blog review! Thank you, Linda, for being the ice breaker.

Also, the donations at the Razoo fundraising page are at $160 now. And I haven’t made my donation yet. I’m actually holding out a bit longer, and when it gets closer to $200, I’ll chip in and push the total over that next cliff.

BUT! I’m always going to keep in mind that the Razoo donation total doesn’t show every donation that gets made in the name of this project. A friend of mine who read the book told me that she’s making a $30 donation to her local chapter of the American Cancer Society. šŸ™‚ She’s a kissing angel. MWAH to you, J!

Don’t forget to kiss your mom for Mother’s Day, mother puckers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 1:58 am

    Yay, new blog post! I am watching the video right now. My scientist husband heard the voice from across the room and said, “Hey when did you start watching Vsauce?” He liked the video but agrees it really didn’t answer the question. Oh well, I guess we have to read Kisshenbomb to find out.

    • May 10, 2013 7:49 am

      Yay, Stevie! šŸ˜€ Welcome to my blog. (Sorry about the comment filter — it keeps the spam out.) And I’m waving a high over your shoulder to your science hubby.

      I really liked Sheril’s book on kissing. It made even the higher-level science fun and easily digestible.

Leave a Reply

