Skip to content

Kiss Art: kiss, by Alessandro Pautasso

June 15, 2013
tags:

When I look at a piece of art, I want to see a story, one that’s full and rich with detail, all captured in that single image.

I see that in kiss, by Alessandro Pautasso. (Image used courtesy of the artist.)

Kiss by Alessandro Pautasso

What is the story behind this kiss art?

Okay, first, let me mention that I’m always a big fan of swirls. But looking past the swirls, it feels like something powerful is going on here. Who is this woman? Is this one woman torn between two different men? Or is this woman trying to understand her feelings for a particular man, searching for reality? The two sides are not, in fact, mirror images — the swirls don’t line up. Oh wow, and I just now noticed that in one direction, the woman’s mouth is quirked up in a smile, and in the other direction it isn’t.

Love it. I could look at it over and over and keep coming up with something new. What do you see in this piece?

If you like, you can check out Alessandro’s website — he has more gorgeous work showing there, as well as posters for sale.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2013 12:38 am

    I love the energy here. My first thought was maybe it’s her perspective of him and his perspective of her.

    • June 16, 2013 10:55 am

      Oooh, interesting take. I’m going to tilt my head sideways and look at it from that point of view.

  2. June 16, 2013 2:54 pm

    Art History was my favorite subject in college! I love taking notes of what my first impressions are, then going deeper – the image, the colors used, the angles, etc. This is lovely.

    • June 16, 2013 3:26 pm

      Ooh, I think we should definitely discuss art when we meet up in Chicago. 🙂

  3. Hilary - Dangled Carat permalink
    June 18, 2013 6:31 am

    I love the picture…I think she is torn between two men and she is trying to make up her mind who she loves most

    • June 18, 2013 11:10 am

      It’s so fun to imagine what’s going on! I think that story is an exciting way to view this image.

Leave a Reply

